Birkman Colors

Four Colors, Four Facets of Personality

The Birkman Method helps you understand your unique personality through the use of four colors (red, green, yellow, blue) measured by four key facets of personality which are:

1. INTERESTS are activities that you enjoy and motivate you in your work and personal life. You will naturally gravitate towards these. There are ten areas of interest: artistic, literary, musical, persuasive, social service, scientific, technical, outdoor, numerical, administrative.

2. NEEDS are what you need from other people and your environment to be satisfied and engaged. Examples: Strong, direct supervision, team acceptance, opportunities to feel heard, a definite plan in place.

3. USUAL BEHAVIORS are your typical behaviors when your Needs are met. These are your strengths and how others see you. Examples: initiates actions, competitive, reflective, organized, detailed.

4. STRESS BEHAVIORS are your unproductive behaviors when your Needs are not met by others or your environment. Examples: impatient, edgy, overly competitive, indecisive, resistant to change.

Birkman Colors
Birkman color red

The Birkman Color Key is often used as a starting point in the interpretation of one’s Birkman assessment results. Give a start to your professional growth by answering the questions in this blog post.

See also Birkman blog:

Email Call